Please talk to me about OHRRPGCE on Linux

Make games! Discuss those games here.

Moderators: Bob the Hamster, marionline, SDHawk

guo
Metal Slime

Please talk to me about OHRRPGCE on Linux

Post by guo »

Hi guys,

I have just received a tiny russian eeepc and managed to get a variant of ubuntu running (easypeasy).
I have downloaded the latest nightly build for linux but I can't seem to get the darned thing to run. I'm fairly new to linux, can anybody please give me a quick rundown?

Much appreciated.
vvight.wordpress.com
TMC
Metal King Slime

Post by TMC »

It's likely that you don't have SDL 1.2 and SDL_mixer 1.2 installed; I don't think they are by default on ubuntu.

Open a terminal of some sort and run
sudo apt-get install libsdl-mixer1.2
That will ask you for your root password, and should install SDL and possibly many other things too since SDL_mixer depends on it.

Since it's a tiny PC I assume it's a 32 bit machine, but if it's 64 bit then you'll want to download a 64 bit linux nightly build (not available for Callipygous)

If if still doesn't run, run ohrrpgce-game from a terminal and you'll probably get an error message.
If you installed from a .deb file then it'll be installed system-wide and "ohrrpgce-game" will work. If yuo just extracted a .tar.gz then you need to type the path to the executable, or "./ohrrpgce-game" in the current directory
guo
Metal Slime

Post by guo »

Getting "command not found" when trying to run either custom or game in the terminal. I have the tar.gz for SDL-mixer1.2 though, what do I need to do after extracting the folder? The terminal command you gave didn't seem to do anything.

Regards.
Last edited by guo on Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
vvight.wordpress.com
TMC
Metal King Slime

Post by TMC »