N00b problems with scripting tutorial

Ask and answer questions about making games and related topics. Unrelated topics go in that other forum.

Moderators: marionline, SDHawk

TheLordThyGod
Slime Knight
Location: Muscle Shoals, AL, USA, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way, Known Universe

N00b problems with scripting tutorial

Post by TheLordThyGod »

I am not a programmer. In the slightest. Yet.

But I'm trying to teach myself to script now.

I just did everything in the HamsterRepublic plotscripting tutorial and moved on to the Moogle1 tutorial. I'm currently working on lesson 3, specifically the first script of the lesson "zap."

I think the tutorial wants me to make an invisible NPC activated by "step on" that triggers the zap script, causing NPC 35 to appear. I have imported the script in Custom, created this NPC with step-on activation to run the zap script, and placed the NPC on the map. NPC 35 also exists. Nothing happens when I step on the NPC tile.

My script is below. I've checked it against Moogle1's tutorial, and can't find anything wrong. Any idea what I might be missing?

#------------------------
#ZAP

define script (4,zap,none)

script,zap,begin
if (herodirection(me)==west) then
(
set npc position(35,herox(me)--1,heroy(me))
)
if (herodirection(me)==north) then
(
set npc position(35,herox(me),heroy(me)--1)
)
if (herodirection(me)==east) then
(
set npc position(35,herox(me)+1,heroy(me))
)
if (herodirection(me)==south) then
(
set npc position(35,herox(me),heroy(me)+1)
)
end
Attachments
NPC
NPC
OHR NPC script issue ZAP.JPG (67 KiB) Viewed 2240 times
Last edited by TheLordThyGod on Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
...spake The Lord Thy God.
marionline
Metal Slime

Post by marionline »

Does you Step-On-NPC look like this?

I tested the script. It worked fine.
Could be that the step-on-activation is not running.
You could test this by making the npc display a textbox on step-on.
TMC
Metal King Slime

Post by TMC »