Plotscripting turn-based AI

Ask and answer questions about making games and related topics. Unrelated topics go in that other forum.

Moderators: marionline, SDHawk

Foxley
Metal Slime

Plotscripting turn-based AI

Post by Foxley »

Okay, I feel kind of ridiculous and terrible for even posting about this on the forums, but here we go.

I've developed an idea for a game that would require some basic AI for monster behavior in a turn-based, grid-based (OHR's 20x20 grid) movement scheme. Problem is, I have no idea how to even begin approaching this using Hamsterspeak. I've never programmed AI before in my life.

Does anyone have any basic enemy AI scripts I could analyze and try to get an idea of how I'd approach this? Or if this is the worst engine to do this in, then by all means, give me the reality check I need so I go back to working on my actual RPG project like I should be doing!
BMR
Metal King Slime

Post by BMR »

So, something like Fallout where you're free to move around a grid, and the AI figures out where to move on the grid and what actions to take?

If so, then here are a couple of things that you may want to look at. I believe Mogri has a game that uses Dijkstra's for figuring out where the AI wants to go, not sure what he uses to get the AI to figure out it wants to do though. I use a different method, and I'd offer to send you my script but it's a complete mess and might be more confusing than helpful if I'm being honest, hehe.
Last edited by BMR on Tue May 10, 2016 3:48 am, edited 3 times in total.
Being from the third world, I reserve the right to speak in the third person.

Using Editor version wip 20170527 gfx_sdl+fb music_sdl
TMC
Metal King Slime

Post by TMC »

You didn't provide any hint what you want the NPCs to actually do...
Do you want something similar to the 'wander' NPC movetype?
Do you want the monsters to walk along fixed paths?