Multiple Attack Gauge Idea

Ask and answer questions about making games and related topics. Unrelated topics go in that other forum.

Moderators: marionline, SDHawk

CPainter307
Slime

Multiple Attack Gauge Idea

Post by CPainter307 »

To preface anything, I'm a complete noob at this. I've been reading tutorials, FAQs, and messages on here for a while now to help me develop the game I'm making. I think I have it all figured out, but there's something I want to try and I'm not sure where to start.

For starters, I'd like the game I'm making to only have one playable character, but function much like a traditional RPG. I thought about how to balance that for a while, and I came up with an idea. Instead of giving the player one move to use per turn, I could let them use multiple moves that were worth a specific amount of Move Points (or something along those lines).

So, basically, when it is the player's turn, they have a gauge that is full. Different moves eat up different parts of the gauge, but they can use as many moves as they want until that gauge runs out. So, if a basic attack eats up a fourth of the gauge then they can attack four times. Or, if a spell uses up half of the gauge, they can attack twice and cast a spell.

The only issue is, I've had no luck even figuring out where to get started with something like this and I was hoping for some help. Thanks!
"I AM ONLY A MAN"
~CommanderVideo
kylekrack
Liquid Metal Slime

Post by kylekrack »

I'm gonna look into this, but I don't have any promises. The battle system in the OHR has its limitations. There are some tricky things you can do with it, but it is certainly made for a specific style of battle. Because of that, some things simply aren't possible yet, due to the fact that there is no battlescripting implemented (plz Bob).