Diagonal Stairs

Ask and answer questions about making games and related topics. Unrelated topics go in that other forum.

Moderators: marionline, SDHawk

splendidland
Red Slime

Diagonal Stairs

Post by splendidland »

Hello, I'm currently working on a new large project, and an area I'm currently working on ideally should contain some diagonal staircases.

I've managed to make them work before in my previous game "Megaman Sprite Game", but the main problem with them was that they were one way, and once you started moving up the stairs, you could never go back down, I've never used the 'if' functions before and I'm having a hard time with this.

In my previous game, the stairs were simply a chain of invisible NPC's. You'd step on one, which would suspend the player, and then wait for them to press the Right Arrow key, which would make them walk right and up one tile, which would send them to the next NPC and activate it again, and so on until you reached the top where another script would resume the control.

It worked nicely enough given the linearity of the game, especially because it was in the final dungeon area which was full of sections that prevented the player from returning to where they came from, but the game I'm working on now has a much bigger emphasis on exploration so it's not ideal at all.

I'm aware I'll have to make different scripts based on the oreintation of the stairs, but basically what I need help making is something that suspends the player, and makes them move in different directions based on what key is pressed, currently up and left, and down and right.

I hope I explained this well enough, I can expand on this if needed! Thanks in advance.
Fenrir-Lunaris
Metal Slime

Post by Fenrir-Lunaris »

I've used something like this:

Code: Select all

script,upleftstairs,begin
	set tag (tag:stairs,on)
	suspend player	, suspend hero walls
	walk hero (me,up,2), walk hero (me,left,2), wait for hero (me)
	set tag (tag:stairs,off)