More help plz

Ask and answer questions about making games and related topics. Unrelated topics go in that other forum.

Moderators: marionline, SDHawk

Post Reply
AzureGames
Red Slime
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 8:18 pm

More help plz

Post by AzureGames »

In a plotscript, how can I have two things happen simultaneously?
User avatar
Foxley
Metal Slime
Posts: 832
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 5:54 pm

Post by Foxley »

In general, anything that's done in the same wait tick/frame happens simultaneously.
TMC
Metal King Slime
Posts: 4308
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 9:19 am

Post by TMC »

So do you have two existing scripts that you want to run at once? There's only a problem if both of them contain 'wait' commands. We need more information.
AzureGames
Red Slime
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 8:18 pm

...Um...

Post by AzureGames »

Are there any scripts like this?

Code: Select all

#Script A

At the same time

#Script B
I really hope this makes sense to you. I'm sorry if it doesn't.
Last edited by AzureGames on Tue Mar 28, 2017 3:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Foxley
Metal Slime
Posts: 832
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 5:54 pm

Post by Foxley »

It doesn't make sense because you aren't showing or telling what you're trying to do in Script A and Script B. Please use the "Code" option to post the two scripts you want to use simultaneously.
User avatar
Newbie Newtype
Reigning Smash Champion
Posts: 1873
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 9:44 pm

Post by Newbie Newtype »

You need to run them before a wait(1) command, such as in another script

Code: Select all

script, runscript_c, begin
     runscript_b
     runscript_a

     wait(1)
end
<TheGiz> oh hai doggy, oh no that's the straw that broke tjhe came baclsb
AzureGames
Red Slime
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 8:18 pm

:(

Post by AzureGames »

Foxley wrote:It doesn't make sense because you aren't showing or telling what you're trying to do in Script A and Script B. Please use the "Code" option to post the two scripts you want to use simultaneously.
I'm sorry for confusing you.
User avatar
Bob the Hamster
Lord of the Slimes
Posts: 7658
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 2:34 pm
Location: Hamster Republic (Ontario Enclave)
Contact:

Post by Bob the Hamster »

You should describe what you are trying to do.

If you are trying to make two or more NPCs walk around at the same time, then the correct answer is going to be very different than if you are trying to make two different mini-games run simultaneously.
AzureGames
Red Slime
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 8:18 pm

Actually...

Post by AzureGames »

Nevermind. I think I got it. Sorry about the confusion.
Post Reply