Chained Jump Attack Issue

Ask and answer questions about making games and related topics. Unrelated topics go in that other forum.

Moderators: marionline, SDHawk

Post Reply
User avatar
Meatballsub
Liquid Metal Slime
Posts: 996
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 6:39 pm
Location: Northwest Georgia
Contact:

Chained Jump Attack Issue

Post by Meatballsub »

Hey guys,

Any way around the bug that causes your hero to remain in the air forever if he is in the middle of a chained attack that kills the targeted enemy? I know that he can still attack, but he is invulnerable to direct damage and, obviously, cannot be seen at that point.
User avatar
Bob the Hamster
Lord of the Slimes
Posts: 7658
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 2:34 pm
Location: Hamster Republic (Ontario Enclave)
Contact:

Post by Bob the Hamster »

Hmmm... The correct behaviour is for the "Land" half of the chain to just pick a new target.

What do you have for the "Target And Aiming Settings" for the "Land" part of the chain?

Somehow your chain is being interrupted when the target goes away, but I can't remember which attack settings allow that to happen.
User avatar
Meatballsub
Liquid Metal Slime
Posts: 996
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 6:39 pm
Location: Northwest Georgia
Contact:

Post by Meatballsub »

James, it is set to Enemy and Focused, but there is one attack that is done in between the jump and land (that is done "in the air") but it has the same target settings as land. Would that attack in the middle make a difference?
User avatar
Bob the Hamster
Lord of the Slimes
Posts: 7658
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 2:34 pm
Location: Hamster Republic (Ontario Enclave)
Contact:

Post by Bob the Hamster »

Okay, actually, after poking around in the Target And Aiming Settings menu, I am fairly certain I have isolated the problem.

Your land attack is probably using "Target Class: Previous Target"

<img src="http://i.imgur.com/7cLr5jR.png">

This seems intuitive, but it means that the previous target is the ONLY valid target, and the chain will be cancelled if that target is no longer available.

What you actually want is "Target Class: Enemy"

<img src="https://i.imgur.com/S7jtpGJ.png">

When a single-target attack chains, it tries to keep using the same target as the previous step of the chain, if the target class allows it.

So using "Target Class: Enemy" means that your Jump attack will normally hit the desired target, but if the desired target is unavailable, the jumper will land on some other valid enemy instead.
User avatar
Bob the Hamster
Lord of the Slimes
Posts: 7658
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 2:34 pm
Location: Hamster Republic (Ontario Enclave)
Contact:

Post by Bob the Hamster »

It might help if you post a screenshot of the Target And Aiming Settings screens for all 3 parts of the chain
User avatar
Bob the Hamster
Lord of the Slimes
Posts: 7658
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 2:34 pm
Location: Hamster Republic (Ontario Enclave)
Contact:

Post by Bob the Hamster »

Oh! And I just spotted something else that could cause the same problem!

Look in "Chaining" for the first and second parts of the chain, and look in "Options bitsets..."

There is a bitset called "Don't retarget if target is lost" that you should make sure is turned OFF
User avatar
Meatballsub
Liquid Metal Slime
Posts: 996
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 6:39 pm
Location: Northwest Georgia
Contact:

Post by Meatballsub »

Image
Image
Image
Image



I checked and none of these have that bitset on that turns off the retarget thing.

I do have a video of this happening in-game. Want me to link it?
Last edited by Meatballsub on Thu May 14, 2015 4:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Bob the Hamster
Lord of the Slimes
Posts: 7658
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 2:34 pm
Location: Hamster Republic (Ontario Enclave)
Contact:

Post by Bob the Hamster »

Can you send me a copy of the rpg file, along with a .rsav save file where the jump attack is available?

I can track down exactly what is happening
User avatar
Meatballsub
Liquid Metal Slime
Posts: 996
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 6:39 pm
Location: Northwest Georgia
Contact:

Post by Meatballsub »

Going to PM you the link.
User avatar
Bob the Hamster
Lord of the Slimes
Posts: 7658
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 2:34 pm
Location: Hamster Republic (Ontario Enclave)
Contact:

Post by Bob the Hamster »

For anybody else who was curious about this, I found the issue.

There is another condition that causes chained attacks to not re-target.

If a chain of attacks has zero delay between them, then the chain will be broken if the original target dies.

Meatballsub was able to fix the issue in Ruin by adding a "Delay" of 1 tick to the "Land" part of the chain.

If we want to have a fix for this that does not require a delay, I think we will need to have a new attack chain bitset.
Post Reply